Thursday, October 22

 10/22/2015         No comments

President Muhammadu Buhari has just appointed Professor Mahmud Yakubu as new chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

His appointment was approved today, during the Council of State meeting, at the state house.

Yakubu takes over from Amina Zakari who has been working as INEC Chairman in acting capacity since Attahiru Jega left office in June. She was appointed INEC commissioner for the North-East.
The Council of State also appointed 4 other INEC Commissioners.

They are; Dr Antonla Taiye Okoosi -North-central, Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo (North-east) Dr Mohammed Mustafa (South-south) and Soyebi Adedeji Solomon (South-west).

What you should know about the new INEC chairman:
1. He hails from Bauchi State, North East Nigeria 

2. He Served previously as Executive secretary of the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND) appointed to the Position By Late President Umar Musa Yar'adua.

3.Professor Yakubu, claims to be  the first and only first class graduate of history from the North till date.(Citation required)

4.He is currently a Lecturer at Nigeria Defense Academy Kaduna, Nigeria

5. He was a member of Oby Ezekwesili Educational Transformation Team during her stint at the Ministry of Education.

6. He was accused of Pocketing 850 million meant for the purchase of school chairs and desks for school Children

7. He and his accusers are still court over the diversion of Funds

‎8. Yakubu is a professor of political history and international studies

9.He is an expert in guerrilla warfare, terrorism and counter-terrorism.

10. He was a delegate at last year's national conference‎

Can Professor Mohamood Yusuf fill the shoes left behind by Prof Athahiru Jega?  


Post a Comment

»»Drop Your Comment on this Post!!

Click Banner For Details

Facebook Page